HOME | Kundalini | Divine Experiences | Karma | Q & A | Glossary | e-Yoga | About me | Contact me

Happiness is our nature. It is not wrong to desire it. What is wrong is seeking it outside when it is inside - Ramana Maharshi
Trigunas: Sattwa, Rajas and Tamas
According to sciences, the Universe is made up of basic physical particles that include electrons, protons, neutrons, mesons, gluons and quarks.

At a spiritual level however, the Universe is made up of something even more basic. These particles are known as the 3 subtle basic components (trigunas) – Sattva gun, Rajas gun and Tamas gun (Gun = quality).

Since it hasn’t been a part of our curriculum this concept may seem alien to some of us. But they are the very fabric of the creation of the universe (human, animal and everything around us - living and non-living)

Example: Depending on which one of the three subtle components is predominant within us, it influences how we:
React to situations
Make decisions
Make choices
Live our lives

Electrons, protons and neutrons DO NOT drive these actions. Its only the Triguns that guide these actions.

GOD is beyond all these Gunas – That is why he is called Gunatit.

Sattva Gun - Nearest to divinity. Person has happiness, contentment, patience, ability to forgive…

Tamas Gun – Lowest of the three. Is reflected by laziness, greed, fear, jealousy, attachment to worldly matters etc.

Rajas Gun - Provides fuel to the other two, i.e. brings about the action. So depending on whether a person is predominantly sattvik or tamasik the rajas gun will bring about actions pertaining to sattva or tama.


Yoga is an exact science. It aims at the harmonious development of body, mind and soul. Everyone should follow one Yoga as their primary Yoga (based on their character). Then we must combine Karma Yoga, Hatha Yoga, Raja Yoga, Bhakti Yoga and Gyan Yoga. This “Yoga Synthesis” will lead one to the God.
 HOME | Kundalini | Divine Experiences | Karma | Q & A | Glossary | e-Yoga | About me | Contact me
Kundalini Yoga is also known by the names: Siddha Yoga, Sahaj Yoga, Shaktipat Yoga, Maha Yoga, Shakti Yoga or Kriya Yoga